CENTRAL BEDFORDSHIRE SHADOW COUNCIL

10 APRIL 2008

NOMINATIONS FOR COMMITTEE SEATS, CHAIRMANSHIPS/VICE-CHAIRMANSHIPS 2008/09

1. The political balance of the Council (with %s in brackets) is set out below:-

Conservative	Independent	Labour	Liberal Democrat
89	4	5	25 (*)
71.77%	3.23%	4.03%	20.16%

Note: *

- 1 vacancy exists on Mid Beds District Council which has been treated as still being filled by the Liberal Democrat Group pending the by-election on 1 May 2008.
 - 1 Member has not indicated an intention to belong to a political group.
- 2. The size of committees and the allocation of seats to Groups in accordance with the proportionality rules is set out below:-

Body	Total Seats	С	LD	Labour	Independent
Scrutiny Committee	12	9	2	1	0
General Purposes	9	6	2	0	1
Appointments	4	3	1	0	0

For Scrutiny Committee each Council has 4 seats. For General Purposes Committee each Council has 3 seats.

The report at Agenda Item No. 8 originally indicated that 1 Labour or Independent seat was available on each of the Scrutiny and General Purposes Committees. However given that the Independent Group now comprises 4 rather than 5 Members and the Labour Group comprises 5 Members, the seat on the Scrutiny Committee should be allocated to the Labour Group with the seat on the General Purposes Committee being allocated to the Independent Group.

The Standards Committee is not subject to the rules on political proportionality.

3. The following documents are attached:-

Appendix A Nominations of the Groups for places on committees.

Appendix B Nominations received to date for Chairmenships/Vice-

Chairmenships of committees.

- 4. The election of the Chairman and Vice-Chairman of the Standards Committee will be dealt with at the first meeting of that Committee and one of the independent persons on the Committee should be elected to the office of Chairman.
- 5. The election of the Chairman of the Appointments and Appeals Committee will be dealt with at the first meeting of that Committee.
- 6. For Members' information notification has been received of the appointment of the following Group Leaders upon the Shadow Authority:-

Conservative Group Cllr Mrs P E Turner MBE

Independent Group Cllr J A Gurney

Labour Group Cllr D Ross

Liberal Democrat Group Cllr P A Blaine

Central Bedfordshire Shadow Authority

10 April 2008

Nominations for Membership of Committees

Scrutiny Committee (12 Members)

Members: BCC R G Baker BEM

R A Baker R Goodwin G Summerfield

MBDC N Aldis

A R Bastable

L Birt H J Lockey

SBDC A Fahn

D Hogan J Kane P Staples

General Purposes (9 Members)

Members: BCC S Goodchild

R W Johnstone D J Lawrence

MBDC J R Davison

J A Gurney J G Lawrence

SBDC D Bowater

T Green L Ledster

Appointments/Appeals Committee (4 Members)

Members: BCC R Stay

MBDC P E Turner (or nominee) SBDC P Penman (or nominee)

Liberal Democrat: P A Blaine

Standards Committee (19 Members)

Members:	BCC	Ind Ind Ind Elected Elected Elected	
	MDBC	Ind Ind Ind Elected Elected Elected Elected	P B Carne J H Lewis
	SBDC	Ind Ind Ind Elected Elected Elected	

^{*} Subject to ratification of the appointment of Mrs Hockey by South Bedfordshire District Council at its meeting to be held on 15 April 2008.

Appendix B

Central Bedfordshire Shadow Authority

10 April 2008

Nominations for Chairmenship/Vice-Chairmenship of Committees

Scrutiny Committee

Chairman P Staples

Vice-Chairman A R Bastable

General Purposes Committee

Chairman J G Lawrence

Vice-Chairman T Green